The Yummy Side of Life…


Chicken Schnitzel
August 9, 2009, 5:35 pm
Filed under: Chicken, Dinner | Tags: , ,

I’ve been determined to successfully fry something for quite sometime. See, what usually happens is that the outside cooks before the inside so I have a nice crispy breading and raw meat inside 😦 I might have actually conquered frying this past week!

I saw a chicken schnitzel recipe a while back that looked really, really (no, I mean REALLY) good. My mouth was watering just at the sight of it. Well, according to several dictionaries, a schnitzel is a veal cutlet that is breaded and fried (basically a conglomeration of what all the dictionaries said). Uhoh… Frying??? Yikes. I decided to give it a shot anyway–I had backup plans just in case!

Look at this beauty after frying up a couple of schnitzels for P and me!!

Perfectly Crispy Chicken Schnitzel

Perfectly Crispy Chicken Schnitzel

So here’s what you do:

Take enough boneless, skinless chicken breasts for however many of you there are. Pound them between wax paper until they are 1/4″ thick. Dredge them in flour, dip them in beaten egg, and coat them in plain breadcrumbs. Season both sides with salt and pepper. Heat about 3 tablespoons of olive oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Place one or two schnitzels (depending on how big your pan is) in the oil and cook for 2-1/2 to 3 minutes on each side (until golden brown and juices run clear). Drain on paper towels and enjoy!

That’s it–seriously! That’s it! Phil’s came out a little crispy, but the heat was too high. He doesn’t seem to mind a few burnt spots. I turned the heat down for mine and it came out perfectly golden brown 🙂 We enjoyed it with our regular condiments (ketchup for me, mustard for him), but next time I make this I will probably make a lemon butter sauce to drizzle on top. ::licks lips:: Yum!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Your schnitzel looks really good. I thought you deep-fried it at first. But then I realized you just pan-fried the chicken. Good recipe:)

Cheers,
Tana (CheapAppetite on foodbuzz)

Comment by squintingeyes




Leave a Reply

