The Yummy Side of Life…


Sweet Cornbread
January 6, 2008, 2:39 am
Filed under: Sides

submitted by Virginia Hanker on Allrecipes.com

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup cornmeal
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 cup sour cream
1/3 cup milk
1/4 cup butter, melted

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients. In another bowl, combine the egg, sour cream, milk, and butter. Stir sour cream mixture into dry ingredients.

Pour into a greased 8×8 dish. Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Serve warm.

““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““
A couple of Phil’s college friends came over tonight en route to Texas (from Pennsylvania). I also made a slow-cooker chili with ground bison meat, but that recipe comes out of my head and is different every time I make it. I finished off with brownies-from-a-box. I got the extra fudgy kind, and they were simply delish!

Oh… Before I forget: I did not alter this recipe in any shape or form (although I did use fat-free sour cream, but just because I happened to have it on hand). It was super moist and was the perfect side for the chili!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

